The Board of Management (Board) is authorized under Section 6 of the Land Surveyors Act with the Board responsibilities or functions being identified under Section 7.  The Bylaws, Part B, bylaw 2 further identifies the powers and responsibilities of the Board.

Election of the Board and Executive Offices is determined in the Bylaws in Part B, bylaw 4.  A Vice President is elected annually for a two-year term in which the second year he/she will serve as President.  Additionally the Board has four (4) elected members and four appointees being the Past President, a Lieutenant Governor in Council appointed public member, the Surveyor General of BC and a member appointed to serve as Secretary.  Elected members are elected for a two-year term and may run for additional terms or run for the position of Vice President.  Elections are held at the Association annual general meeting currently held in March annually.

The Board generally meets three times per year in a full meeting environment and fills in other times of the year with teleconferences.  Occasionally there will be further meetings/workshops for topics such as strategic planning, open forums or the occasional hearing for discipline purposes.

 Board of Management 2017

(Left to Right): Shauna Goertzen (Member), Mike Thomson (Surveyor General), Kelly Stofer (Secretary/Registrar),
Chris Cryderman (Member), Ron Johns (Past President), Brian Brown (President), David Rutherford (Member),
Mike Waberski (Member),  Michael Burian (Government Appointee),
Chad Rintoul (Chief Administrative Officer),  Roger Galibois (Vice President)

Following is the current makeup of the Board

Name Role Term Expiry Other
Brian Brown President March 2018 Vice President, March 2017
Roger Galibois Vice President March 2018
Shauna Goertzen Member at Large March 2019
Dave Rutherford Member at Large March 2019
Chris Cryderman Member at Large March 2018
Mike Waberski Member at Large March 2018
Ron Johns Past President March 2018  President, March 2017
Michael Burian LGIC Public Appointee November 2018
Kelly Stofer Secretary/Registrar Appointed by the Board
Michael Thomson Surveyor General Appointed to the role of Surveyor General by the Land Title & Survey Authority of BC